CHI Centers officially launched their rebranding as WeAchieve, Inc. (“WeAchieve”) in Spring 2023 and is now celebrating one year with a new name and a refreshed focus on their mission. WeAchieve is pleased to announce they will host an annual awards event recognizing those who have contributed to the success of the organization and advanced the mission of full inclusion in the community for people with differing abilities.  Self-advocates, local leaders, community members, state lawmakers, and friends of the organization are invited to celebrate the one-year anniversary and recognize the honorees at the celebration which will take place on the WeAchieve grounds on June 27th.

Among the 2024 honorees is Andrea Kolp, Executive Director of Arc Maryland, who will receive the WeAchieve Leadership Award—a distinction recognizing state and local leaders who have paved the way to full community inclusion for people with disabilities. Through this work, these individuals also advocate on behalf and in support of the organizations that provide services to achieve this goal. The leadership of these awardees illustrates exemplary work alongside advocates which results in increased opportunities and improved community membership for everyone.

Additionally, WeAchieve will recognize Harold Krauthamer, Esq. with a WeAchieve Legacy Award—an award recognizing leaders who have dedicated a lifetime to paving the way toward full community inclusion for people with disabilities. These awardees are strong advocates for individuals with disabilities and have worked tirelessly to support WeAchieve in advancing the organization’s goals in the central Maryland and DC region.

Television Journalists Megan McGrath and Sierra Fox will each receive the WeAchieve Champion Award. This honor recognizes professionals who have gone above and beyond in their support of CHI (now WeAchieve) to ensure the organization flourishes and continues to fulfill its mission to break through barriers so people with intellectual and developmental disabilities can contribute, connect, and lead the lives they choose.

WeAchieve will also recognize lawmakers for their contributions to inclusive communities.  This year, the organization honors Senator Brian J. Feldman (District 15, Montgomery County); Delegate Aaron M. Kaufman (District 18, Montgomery County); and, Delegate David H. Moon, Esq. (District 20, Montgomery County). The WeAchieve Legislative Partner Award recognizes policymakers who have exhibited commitment and potential for a marked impact on opportunities for people with disabilities to live, work, and recreate in their communities.

Finally, WeAchieve honors community partners who have supported the work of the organization through their direct collaboration in the community.  WeAchieve is proud to recognize FedFinancial Federal Credit Union, Rainbow Community Development Center, Mike Weinke, and Zips Dry Cleaner.

WeAchieve (formerly CHI) is a leading provider of comprehensive, customized support for individuals in the Maryland area with intellectual and other developmental differences. With roots as a Maryland nonprofit organization founded in 1948, they make it possible for the people they serve to live and work as fully integrated members of the community, allowing them to feel valued and enjoy the friendship of others. WeAchieve is dedicated to creating solutions that help all people live better lives and feel fulfilled— not just a day at a time, but over the course of their lives.